only 5ppm of nitrates at the end of the week? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-16-2011, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (6/100%)
Question only 5ppm of nitrates at the end of the week?

hello all. i am new to planted tanks so here goes. my setup is an ongoing process as i learn. I have a 55 gallon with 2- 54w HO T5 flourescents, an emperor 400 biowheel filter, flourite substrate, two mating dalmation mollies, about 14 cardinal/neon tetras, a BN pleco, 5 amano shrimp, a hachet fish, three killifish and about 8 molly babies. I am dosing 5ml flourish and 10ml of excel everyday and 7.5 ml of potassium every other day. I am also doing 50 percent water changes every week.

My problem is i keep looking for what i am missing as far as nutrients and have overlooked the fact that at the end of the week my nitrates are only at 5ppm. Now i am not sure on the type of plants i have. i have vals that are down to nubs and my corkscrew vals are putting out some new leaves slightly but the leaves are drooping. i have about 8 plants and some floating stuff that has red roots that hang down.

Question is what do i do about the nitrates? Start adding nitrogen and closely monitor the levels? Dont change the water everyweek? Thanks in advance for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-16-2011, 11:57 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
You aren't dosing any meaningful amount of nitrates. I'd incorporate that into my dosing schedule. Flourish is an ok source of micros, but the recommended dosing is too low for a high light tank, and there's not any meaningful amount of nitrogen, potassium, or phosphoorous.