Ferts for lowlight/low tech advice please - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2011, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Ferts for lowlight/low tech advice please

I'm new to planted tanks and would like some input on ferts please. I'd like to keep this very simple. I'm using two t8's at 20" above the substrate on my 38 gallon tank so roughly 1wpg. It has angels, apisto's, cardinals, and otto's. Planted with some java ferns, anubius nana, crypts williasi, and vals. No co2 injection and no ferts except for excel. I was using daily or every other day but have cut back to 3 times a week at half dose for a little bit to not risk the newly added vals. I'm wondering if there is a single comprehensive fert that would be useful to to this setup. Would such a low light and low demand plant tank like this even need or benefit much from ferts? If so what would be some recommendations/brands. Would using only micro but not macro be a bad idea? I was thinking of flourish(micro), but leaving out the individual macros for simplicity sake. Any advice appreciated, thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2011, 06:48 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Perhaps worth mentioning is that my nitrates stay below 10. Also i'm not looking for alot of increased growth, simply want the plants to remain green and healthy.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2011, 08:41 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (27/100%)
You are going to need a little more light, most likely and try this site for good reading on low tech http://sites.google.com/site/aquatic...r/home/pps-pro I us the PPS Pro mix made from dry ferts and weigh, mix solution, dose once per week, it's all at the site.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.