Best budget test kits?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2005, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Best budget test kits??

I am a newbie to planted tanks and am looking into updating my test kits. I currently have an (expired I'm sure) Aquarium Pharmacuticles freshwater test kit I bought a few years ago at a local "big box" pet store. I have been reading several posts on this board and most are recommending Lamotte test kits. These kits are very expensive! I know the accuracy of the tests may be best with the Lamotte kits, but I would like to see what everyone thinks is the best "budget" alternative and conversely what are some kits to stay away from. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Red Razor
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2005, 09:37 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
I like the Aquarium pharm kits for Gh, Kh,Ph,Nitrate. Most of the cheap phosphate kits are difficult to read, the only phosphate kit that I've used that I like is the Lamotte kit.

FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2005, 10:14 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (192/100%)
I was pretty happy with Red Sea's Phosphate kit.

Other than that I agree with Marcel. I don't like the AP Nitrate kit because it doesn't have a good resolution in the low range that's important for planted tanks, but if you don't want to spend the money for a LaMotte it gives you a rough idea if you are out or over.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.