I am so confused - pH, gh, phosphate - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2005, 05:22 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (20/100%)
I am so confused - pH, gh, phosphate

My tap water comes out at a pH of 6.6. I've been changing it to neutral using Seachem Neutral (which is a phosphate buffer). Out of the tap, the water is: kH3, gH of nothing, phosphate of .5. Obviously, when I add the Neutral Regulator, I get a reading of more than 10 on the phosphate. I have two tanks- a 10g planted with a betta and 3 otocinclus, and a 30g planted with a feeder goldfish, 6 white clouds and 6 cory cats. I also have DIY CO2 on both.
I am pretty new to all of this- since September. I've read not to change the pH on your tanks, but now that these fish have been in a pH of 7, I'm nervous about just treating the water for metals and not changing the pH when I do a water change. However, I read you're not supposed to use phosphates with plants? Things look pretty good to me as far as the plants and fish....
What should I do about the pH? Slowly mix tap water in that is a lower pH and allow the fish to acclimate, or is there something else?
Thanks so much for your help! So far, I've been able to keep plants alive and actually get some growth thanks to all the info here!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2005, 05:32 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
Bringing up the GH

Possibly get some Kent RO right to bring up the GH. 1/2 teaspoon added to 5 gal will give you a GH of 3.

Baking soda is the right way to go if you want to raise the KH and pH, and waaay cheaper than phosphate buffers.

What I can't explain is why you pH is so incredibly low out of the tap. Try oxygenating the water (air stone) for a night, and then post the pH. This would help.

Ted

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Set up April 2007 -