Question from a chemist about water changes - The Planted Tank Forum
 32Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-04-2020, 07:48 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question from a chemist about water changes

Hi- new here; I've had tanks on and off since I was a kid, got back into it after a hiatus. Plant nutrition is my specialty, albeit in a different context (plant tissue culture), and I'm a chemist by training.

I've been mulling over water changes recently. Living in the desert, the water out of the tap is pretty lousy, TDS at several hundred ppm. RO helps, of course, at the expense of several gallons of reject water for every gallon produced.

For the first time in my life, I have a large-ish tank (120 gallons), with a sole occupant (an oscar) that is more or less leaving the plants alone. While I am certain some morning this will mean a rude awakening, he's never been much into landscaping, so between robust, fast-growing plants and careful planting among heavy rocks, maybe I'll be pleasantly surprised.

But the reason I write is that I would like to know: why water changes? Obviously, we need to keep nitrogen and phosphorus at bay, but provided biological filtration and careful use of plants to keep these parameters in check, what else needs to be controlled in order to keep fish healthy? I would like to reduce the amount of water used for water changes (as above- living in the desert).

Say I could add only distilled water (a real possibility, given a solar still). What are the limiting factors in this context?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-04-2020, 07:06 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

In our aquaria, we have bacteria, plants and fish using up nutrients and giving off by-products. Without water changes, some things can get depleted (although, can be replenished with ferts) while other substances can build up, both inorganic and organic. Oscars are notoriously messy fish.