• 2 Post By vanostav61
  • 1 Post By pauld738
  • 1 Post By Immortal1

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-14-2020, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Starting Out with PPS-Pro

So with my 45 gallon tall office aquarium I'm using PPS-Pro for the first time and I'm beginning to wonder if I'm missing something...

I mixed up the macro and micro components as described (I'm using Green Leaf Aquariums products), made sure I used distilled water, double checked my measurements etc. (I'm a laser physicist my profession, so although I'm no chemist, my measurement techniques are at least decent!). I've been dosing daily since first introducing plants about 4 weeks ago, 4.5ml of macros, 2.2ml of micros. I'm currently doing two ~25% water changes per week and am dosing 9ml of macros and 4.4ml of micros after the water change. But, when I test the tanks nitrates and phosphates, they are consistently reading zero. Nitrates went through the roof (>160ppm) while the tank was cycling, but once the filter kicked in, they dropped top zero in the space of about 3 days (including one ~50% water change).

My understanding is that I'm looking to "limit the water column nutrient levels" (I'm interpreting this to mean peak concentrations) to ~30ppm for nitrates and ~3ppm for phosphates, for a brightly lit tank. I don't have a way to measure PAR, but I have three 24" Finnex 24/7 Planted+ CC lights (running in 24/7 mode). The tank is 28" deep, and its about 25" to the top of the substrate so, just visually, I'd say the light is "bright" but not ridiculously so.