The Planted Tank Forum banner

mixing with rodi water

4K views 18 replies 4 participants last post by  Quagulator 
#1 ·
im sure this has been answered many times so i do apologize. i have looked up and read some other posts, where is was some info i was looking for but not straight up enough for me i guess haha. i am new to planted freshwater tanks, i have had a reef tank going for the last 5 years. i have started with just dechlorinated tap water but i'm just wanting to cut everything out and put quality water in the tank. i live in socal where our water is very hard and has all kinds of stuff in it. i was wanting to reconstitute my rodi water to be fit for the planted tank but was unsure what to use. i have seem more than a few different things from brightwell. neo tiger KH+/GH+, and about 3 or 4 other products they have that are GH+ or KH+, not both. so i am confused on what i would need, i understand the alkalinity and everything but just not sure what products to use and how. i have a 20g long with some plants already and some rasboras. im using flourite substrate, wasnt sure if the gravel would make it to where i need another product or not either. i was hoping for a straight answer of a produst to use and mix to what amount. another question i had was do i mix my top off water too? or do i use pure rodi like i would for my reef since elements dont evap?

any help with be very appreciated

-Tim

See less See more
#2 ·
Quick answer - Absolutely RO remineralized is worth it for an ex-reefer.

Quick reference:

Per 1 US Gallon:
0.386 Grams CaSO4 - 30ppm Ca, 4.2 degrees gH
0.384 Grams MgSO4 - 10ppm Mg, 2.3 degrees gH
0.135 Grams KHCO3 - 14ppm K, 1.0 degrees kH

Get to know this website / calculator, it will be your new best friend:

https://rotalabutterfly.com/nutrient-calculator.php

#4 ·
Top-off with pure RO (no need for DI in planted tanks really, it doesn't hurt anything just not needed)