• 1 Post By DaveKS
  • 2 Post By Immortal1
  • 1 Post By Deanna

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-08-2020, 03:53 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Calcium - Magnesium Ratio

Hi everyone, about 6 months ago I started my first planted aquarium so I am fairly new to this.
My tank is a 75gal low tech, sand substrate.

Recently I learned about the Calcium to Magnesium ratio that ideally it should be in the range of 3:1. I do not have Ca Mg water tests but I was able to pull the water report from my tap water supplier and here is what I found:
On average my tap water contains approximately 24ppm Ca and 14ppm Mg.

What product should I buy to raise the Ca and how can I calculate how much Ca do I need to add?

Any other suggestions ore recommendations are welcome since I am still new and learning.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-08-2020, 02:13 PM
Captain

PTrader: (1/100%)
CASO4 is generally used to raise the Calcium level in an aquarium or reverse osmosis water.
This Site is generally used to determine how much of ____ to add to your tank. Not that it matters much, but I generally try to figure out how much water I am working with. In the case of your 75g tank, it is highly unlikely you will have 75g of water in there. Another good calculator tool is this site. They also have a good volume calculator to determine exactly how much water is in your tank. Depending on what you use for a filter (HOB or canister) you may need to add a few gallons for that.
With regards to the Ca:Mg ratio - I would consider it more of a goal than an absolute. Most aquarium plants will adapt to whatever you provide. Learning to know what a Ca deficiency looks like is very helpful. I suspect at 24ppm Ca you will not have a Ca issue.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.