Are Liquid Fertilizers Worth Buying? - The Planted Tank Forum
 7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 02:07 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Are Liquid Fertilizers Worth Buying?

So my question focuses primarily on liquid carbon fertilizers, such as Flourish Excel, and "All in one" style liquid fertilizers, such as Aquarium Co-op's Easy Green. So first off, I have a 5 gallon tank with eco complete and an 8 watt, 6500ish K LED (I don't know the exact specs, but it came with my aquatop pices 5 gallon rimless bullet shaped tank). The plants I have are Abubias Nana Petite, S. repens, and rotala macranda narrow leaf. I don't use any form of CO2, but there are currently DIY osmocote root tabs in my tank. I do not plan on getting pressurized CO2 because I'm a student, and there isn't anywhere near me where I can get a CO2 tank refilled, so I was wondering if it would be worth using a liquid carbon source? In other words, would I see any significant change in growth from using something like Flourish Excel in my tank? Further, I know that plants absorb the majority of their nutrients through their roots, and since I am already using root tabs, would it be necessary to get an all-in-one liquid fertilizer?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 11:34 AM
Planted Member

I believe that you would see a change in growth using both Excel and easy green.

I'm not sure it's true that aquatic plants absorb most nutrients through their roots. They pull a lot right out of the water column.

I'd also be willing to bet there's somewhere that fills CO2 near you.... There's a lot of people getting it for making beer at home, for welding, for paintball, etc. So if the only reason you're not gonna get it is because you can't find it, it's probably just somewhere you aren't thinking about.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 01:13 PM
Algae Grower