Supplementing Iron - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Supplementing Iron

I've been dosing EI for a couple months and most of my plants are doing okay. One in particular appears to have an iron deficiency, evident from the new growth turning a white-ish color. Should I purchase iron in powder form and add it to my micro mix, or is it okay to supplement with Flourish iron (I have a full bottle)?

• 60G low-tech planted acrylic elongated hexagon
  • 29G low-tech planted glass rectangle
  • 20G high-tech planted acrylic rectangle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 10:09 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Hi @mossman77,

Typically if there is an iron deficiency new leaves will emerge with lighter colored leaves with darker veins (interveinal chlorosis). If this is the case then Seachem Flourish Iron should resolve the issue. Dose per the instructions on the bottle to start. Then for the next couple of weeks watch the new leaves as they emerge (existing leaves will not necessarily improve). Do the new leaves appear greener with less different between the leaf veins and the interveinal areas? If so you are on the right path.

Roy_________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

75 Gallon, 2X55W AH Supply CF 8800K, 1XFluval F&P 2.0; 45 Gallon Tall, 96Watt AH Supply CF 6700K; 30 Gallon Long; Fluval F&P 2.0; 20 Gallon, 1X26W AH Supply LED; all with CO2 and (Calcined) Montmorillonite Clay
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seattle_Aquarist View Post
Hi @mossman77,