signs of low nitrogen but nitrates test OK? - The Planted Tank Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 03:11 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
signs of low nitrogen but nitrates test OK?

Hi! I'm a relative newbie -- I've had a low-tech, low/medium light planted tank about 9 months. I dose with Flourish and API Leaf Zone on different days once a week, and use root tabs a couple times a year.

Things seemed to be going reasonably well, but then in recent months I'm seeing a major increase in yellowing older leaves and some browning, and also lots of what I think is hair algae. From reading online and looking at photos of various plant problems it seems to suggest a nitrogen deficiency.

But my nitrates test around 10-20, sometimes up to 40 before a water change.

Does that mean it would be a mistake to dose nitrogen (potassium nitrate)? If that's a bad plan, what should I do instead? I can post photos of leaves if that would be helpful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 02:22 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (64/100%)
Hi @dorian444,

If it is the older leaves developing chlorosis (yellowing) is not likely a nitrogen deficiency; a nitrogen deficiency typically will effect both old and new growth.

Are you doing weekly water changes? If so how much?

Can you post some pictures if not only the plant (plants) showing the symptoms but others as well?

Do you know any of the water parameters for your tank?

pH -

dKH -

dGH -

Nitrates (ppm of NO3) -

Roy_________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.