New tank, high nitrites - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 04:25 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question New tank, high nitrites

Hi!

So i am new to the hobby, but researched a lot in the forums. After a while i decided to give it a go, becouse i needed some real time experience

I started my tank at the end of january. It's an ADA 60P, so a smaller tank, with co2 injection, lot of light, ada amazonia substrate, filter with a lot of matrix and a pack of purigen.
Everything went fine, but after approx. 3 weeks i started seeing hair and beard algae and green spot algae. So i thought yea thats the time for sime algae eaters (amanos or ottos), but i tested the water and my ammonia was 0, nitrites 0.5, nitrates 30. I thought okay, my cycle isnt finished so lets wait a week or two. But this week i tested every day, and my nitrites is still at 0.5. I did frequent water changes, i reduced the timer on the light (its on for 6 hours a day), my co2 starts 2 hours before the lights go on and stops 1 hour before the lights go off. I do fert daily with EI.

I know that it's a new tank, but im worried whether i do it right or not.

So my question is that is it okay that my nitrites is still not 0? My cycle isnt finished?
And is it safe to put amanos or ottos in the tank or should i wait till my nitrites will be 0?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 04:44 PM
OVT
Carpe Diem

PTrader: (144/100%)
Welcome to TPT.

Have you had a chance to test your tap water for nitrites?

Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 05:17 PM Thread Starter

Ohh i forgot to tell, that i use ro water.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 05:24 PM
Planted Member