My tank isn't cycling - The Planted Tank Forum
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My tank isn't cycling

Hello. I have a 10 gallon tank with 1 betta and 3 cherry shrimp. I only got the livestock because my lfs said it was ok but I'm new to the hobby and am now finding out my tank should be cycled first. I've had the tank for 3 months now and everytime I test it's 0-0-0. I have anubias, crypts, pellia and hemianthus. Have not started ferts yet but have recently purchased seachem flourish and will begin that soon. I water change and clean the tank weekly with about a 30% change and condition the water before hand. I have a built in filter with 2 sponges and wash the sponges in the removed tank water and only 1 per wash so as not to kill off any bacteria that may be growing on them. I have gravel substrate and a few bits of drift wood and dragonstone. Tank light on 6hrs daily. Initially was testing parameters almost everyday but now only weekly and every single test I have done is showing 0-0-0. I use the api test kit and it's expiry is 2023. What is going on?! Please help me to understand. Attached is a picture of my tank if that helps anything
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	15519572250165066884794409311842_1551957240506.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	247.9 KB
ID:	878599  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 02:39 PM
Planted Member

Buy dr times aquatic ammonium chloride. Drop 5 or so drops. Test ammonia, nitrite and nitrate after 30 minutes or so. Test ammonia, nitrite and nitrate at the end of the day and check if the ammonia is gone, and water change if nitrite or nitrate got too high.

If ammonia is 0 at the end of the day and nitrites/nitrates aren't too high then you are cycled and fine.