Dgh vs DKH, vs Mg vs Ca I am struggling - help - The Planted Tank Forum
 21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dgh vs DKH, vs Mg vs Ca I am struggling - help

Hey Folks,
The more I read the less I know. or so it seems. I am reading 1-2 hours a day right now trying to get my head wrapped around fertilizers and water parameters. It seems there is a lot of conflict on target levels. I guess that makes sense since aquariums can vary greatly with lighting, plant load, bio load, etc. But I am a newbie just trying to get my feet on the ground.

So few simple questions.
Ca and Mg - what is the correct way to test for these? I have read several threads denouncing the hardness test. Is it necessary to test for these? Specific test kits needed?
Nitrogen - tested via a nitrate test kit?
I have a phosphorous test kit.
I am looking for a potassium test kit.
Sulfer - test kit needed?
What do you think my target range should be for each of the above?

I am reading, and re-reading the PPS web page as my main source of info right now. I think I am going to use this as a fertilizing program. My tank is a 75 and will have a moderate to heavy plant load, some fish. My lighting is currently 4 bulbs t5ho 54 watt( two separate fixtures so it can be cut in half easily if needed)
Thanks in advance

EDIT: I have a CO2 injection system on it way. It should be here by the end of he week. That will be added then.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 03:38 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (15/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcricket View Post
Hey Folks,
It seems there is a lot of conflict on target levels.

Ca and Mg - what is the correct way to test for these? I have read several threads denouncing the hardness test. Is it necessary to test for these? Specific test kits needed?
I have a phosphorous test kit.