• 2 Post By Quagulator
  • 2 Post By Greggz
  • 1 Post By Liquidgarden

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-21-2018, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Nitrate level of well water

Newbie here. I have been living in my home for 7 months. It has well water. Before this the house sat vacant for about 1 year...no water use and the aquifer was dormant . I recently performed new water tests on my well water. Upon filling a clear container with this water I noticed that it had a slightly yellowish tint to it.

The NO3 level has risen from 1.5ppm to about 3 ppm. I am concerned if this is getting on the high side for water used for a water change. (I do have an RO unit I could use if necessary).
I my goal is to eventually be running a high tech tank so I don't know if this would warrant a lower NO3 level for water used for a water change.

Is the NO3 level ok or should it go through an ro system first?

Iron level still measures 0.0 on a seachem multi test. I thought that might have contributed to the yellowish color.

Can anyone tell me what could be causing a slightly yellow tint?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-21-2018, 02:17 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Not sure on the yellow tint, but a lot of us dose in excess of 25-35 ppm on NO3 during a water change (high tech tanks) so you'll actually need to bump your levels way way way up. 3ppm NO3 is of no concern.
Greggz and Liquidgarden like this.

"No Ice? Just Freeze Some Water"

My 30g (25g after learning how a tape measure works) Journal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-21-2018, 05:19 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquidgarden View Post
Is the NO3 level ok or should it go through an ro system first?