?? How many gallons per inch water level in a 75 gallon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-31-2004, 12:42 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (197/100%)
?? How many gallons per inch water level in a 75 gallon

Hi all, newbie here.

Anyone have the figure for how many gallons a one inch drop in water level represents in a perfecto 75 gallon tank? Or the figure for how many cubic inches water to a gallon? I figured it would be a useful thing to know, so when I do water changes I can do them in inches, then convert that to gallons, so I know how much dosing to put into the replaced water.

I apparently have very low GH and KH and so will be supplementing my water at each change to provide buffering capacity. I'm on the learning curve here and trying to figure out what I'm doing.

Thanks for your help!

Donna
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-31-2004, 01:15 AM

PTrader: (11/100%)
cubic inches / 231 = gallons
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 12:44 AM
Are these real?

PTrader: (194/100%)
There are two simple ways to figure that out:

For a 75 gal tank, the real volume will be around 70 gals (measure the inside dimensions of the tank, multiply them and divide by 231). Divide this number by the height of the tank, and you will get your gallons per inch.

Or, take a bucket that fits 5 gallons, mark the tank water level, fill the bucket, and mark the new level. The difference between the two marks will be 5 gallons, and you can put some more marks on the side of the tank for future measuring purposes.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (197/100%)
Thanks

Thanks guys,