Food and water cloudiness - the saga continues! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-29-2018, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Food and water cloudiness - the saga continues!

I originally posted on my cloudy water problems here. To summarise - it's an established tank (two, three years?) but I've been fighting cloudy water and diatoms for nine months now. After great conversation on that thread, I made a few changes:

1. Started doing water changes with RO filtered water (to minimise possible silicates in water)
  2. Got a few (five) oto cats to help fight the diatoms
As of a week ago, things had seemed to improve. Diatoms were in better shape all around, water cloudiness *may* have improved further, but was still there

Then I went on vacation for a week.

The tank denizens are several varieties of tetras and cory and oto cats. Maybe ... 22-25 fish total in a 46 g bowfront tank. I've been feeding them every-other-evening with TetraMin flake food, as well as a few algae tablets on the same cycle for the cats.

When I left for vacation, I dropped a tetra weekend (5-day? Who gets five day weekends?) feeder into the tank and a couple of algae tabs, and had a friend drop another weekend feeder and a few more algae tabs in the tank about mid-week.

I got home expecting/hoping that the tank wouldn't be in horrid cloudy/white/algae shape, that everyone would still be alive.
What I *found* was that not *only* is everyone alive, but in addition:
  • Diatoms appear to be *further* into retreat (still some pesky persistence on the annubias, but nearly gone)
  • Cloudiness appears to have IMPROVED STILL. Not crystal yet, but by eye definitely better.
So my scientist mind says "three things changed":
  1. I hadn't done my weekly-biweekly 10 gallon RO water change for five days before holidays and obviously did not while on vacation - so LESS WATER CHANGED
  2. Did not feed with TetraMin Flake food