Question about TDS reading - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Edward

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2018, 12:08 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question about TDS reading

So I just got a TDS-3 and I'll be honest I'm an absolute noob at using one of these devices. I did a water test with my API test kit getting the water parameters of:

PH: 7.6
NH4: 0
NO2: 0
NO3: 0
GH: 7
KH: 5
Temperature is around 81 degrees.
and my TDS-3 is reading my tank water at about 132 PPM, my tap water reads about 40 ppm.

I keep RCS, Ramshorn snails and a variety of different plants and mosses. What kind of reading with a TDS would be safe for shrimp? and what kind of TDS reading would warrant a water change? also about how often should I be testing water with my test kit and TDS?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2018, 12:31 AM
Wannabe Guru

The higher the TDS readings difference between water source and aquarium the higher importance of taking corrective action.
mbkemp and mbkemp like this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2018, 12:48 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reks View Post
So I just got a TDS-3 and I'll be honest I'm an absolute noob at using one of these devices. I did a water test with my API test kit getting the water parameters of:

PH: 7.6

NH4: 0

NO2: 0

NO3: 0

GH: 7

KH: 5

Temperature is around 81 degrees.

and my TDS-3 is reading my tank water at about 132 PPM, my tap water reads about 40 ppm.

I keep RCS, Ramshorn snails and a variety of different plants and mosses. What kind of reading with a TDS would be safe for shrimp? and what kind of TDS reading would warrant a water change? also about how often should I be testing water with my test kit and TDS?

That number seems a little low for your tap

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk