Anyone dosing Nilocg liquid EI ferts? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-30-2018, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Anyone dosing Nilocg liquid EI ferts?

I have been dosing the liquid Ei ferts for about 3 months. I still haven't quite figured out the amount I should be dosing for my tank. I purchased 500ml pump bottles with the kit and he said to dose 1 pump per 8 gallons since each pump was 2ml. I did that for about a little over 2 months and thought I was over dosing, the tank instead of having an organic smell it smelled foul and strong. The plants also seemed to be doing worse. I was doing 50% water changes every 7th day. The last few weeks after a few big water changes to get the smell to go away I have been only dosing about half after a week of not dosing anything. All plants seen to be rebounding ok, some rotala before the leaves were translucent at the edges and my AR mini would shrivel up and get almost brown. Also all the leaves on my s. Repens fell off. Since the new dosing it's coming around other than the AR mini, the leaves are still a tad bit wavy and they are very wide compared to be narrow from what they should be. I haven't tested any of my tanks for years as the fish have always been healthy, and I kept discus and altums before I decided to get into the planted tank scene so ive always been use to doing water changes. Tank has been running for 3 years. Any experience or advice would be great.

Tank- 50 gallons
Substrate- aquasoil
Lights- 2 AI prime 7-8hr photo period
C02- 3-4 bps
Temp- 74-75

Chris

Chris

Last edited by Spiffyfish; 04-30-2018 at 08:30 PM. Reason: .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-30-2018, 11:52 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (15/100%)
I use Colin's macro compounds with no issues.

Without parameters for your water I doubt anyone will say much.
pH drop from CO2 is? Bubbles mean nothing.