Need a bit of help: Gh kh and pH are low - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-03-2018, 08:08 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need a bit of help: Gh kh and pH are low

Hello, I’m new to the hobby (about 9 months) and have a 29 gallon community tank. I’m having a bit of trouble with my gh kh being so low both at 1 degree and my pH is at 6.4 maybe lower. My tap runs at t 1dkh for kh and 3dkh for gh. I’m using fluval stratum which is supposed to keep pH at mid 6ish but is it supposed to drop gh and kh? I’ve noticed my snail is a bit translucent which is an indicator of low calcium and probably other trace minerals. It’s a planted tank and I have driftwood in it (tried to boil and soak as much tannins as I could out) I’ve recently added a small bag of aragonite inside my hob which I was told adds calcium carbonate which intern raises kh??? Does anyone have any insight on what I can do to level my pH around 7 and get my gh and kh a few degrees up or is it ok?

Stocking list includes:
14zebra danios
1 dwarf gourami
5 Corydoras
1clown pleco

Recent tank malfunction made me have to move 4 Amano Shrimp and a gold nugget pleco into this tank as well but won’t be staying long term.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-03-2018, 01:48 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

FSS is a buffering substrate intended to keep sensitive shrimp species. It lowers the carbonates in the water, which lowers the pH. It is doing exactly what it is supposed to do. The use of tap water and adding carbonates will eventually exhaust this buffering effect.. sooner than later. Most people that use a buffering substrate use RO/DI water only to preserve the effects as long as possible. The use of calcium carbonate will eventually raise the KH and maintain a neutral pH. The more acidic the water is, the quicker the calcium carbonate will dissolve into the water column. To raise KH quickly, you can use baking soda.