DIY Dry Ferts. Auto Dosing. Help with mix. (First Time) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-15-2018, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY Dry Ferts. Auto Dosing. Help with mix. (First Time)

Hey guys.

I'm getting my ferts sorted and on the advice of AquaGreen, I've purchased:

-1Kg KNO3
-1Kg MgSO4
-450g KH2PO4
-1Kg K2SO4

I've got the micro mix as well, but i dont think I need help with that one.

I'm using the EI method, and i'm trying to use the Rotala Butterfly Calc, but am unsure if I'm doing it right.

My tank is roughly 750L. High Light. CO2.

I'm going to be mixing this into 2L containers and dosing 75ml every 3 days a week.

Now, Im very very new to this, so when using the calculator I've got a few questions.

1) Do I just get the calcs for each compound? Does the fact that K2SO4 and MgSO4 both have SO4 in their name mean I should work it out differently?

2) On the calculator, the MgSO4 is MgSO4.7H2O... is this the same thing?

3) If I use the MgSO4.7H2O and I just punch in my specs for each of those 4 compounds, I end up with:
- KNO3 - 244.58g
- MgSO4(MgSO4.7H2O) - 1,014.09g!!!
- KH2PO4 - 37.25g
- K2SO4 - 334.27g

All mixed into a 2L container and dosed at 75mL 3 times a week, which will last 2 months roughly.

Surely thats too much MgSO4..

any help here would be great.

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-15-2018, 01:39 PM
Algae Grower

Hello. How much NO3 / PO4 / K you want to add by each dose (or in total)? With that in hands I can help you with the weights in the Rotala Butterfly Nutrient Calculator.

Regarding MgSO4 and MgSO4.7H2O they are different as the later has crystallized waters with it and the former is totally dry. Its better to use those hydrated forms because the totally dry ones will get moisture from the air and will change its weight.