CO2 for Noobies - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-13-2018, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
CO2 for Noobies

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the hobby and am researching my CO2 options. I will be setting up a 55 gallon tank in the next month or so and am going for a SE Asia biotype tank with hopefully a lush jungle feel. I want to start it out heavily planted.

So for CO2 systems for beginners. I would love a kit that's easy to use like the Fluval co2 kits, but they say it's only good to 40 gal. Is this true? Is any amount of co2 better than none?

Should I look for a regulator kit more similar to Dr Foster and Smith's Semi Automatic Regulator kit?

Also, could explore DIY options.

Or carbon cartridge options like Sicce CO2 Life 2 Aquarium CO2 Injection System

Any recommendations or advice is much appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-13-2018, 06:00 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
You are correct in there being a lot of options and sorting through the options is really a very important point. CO2 can be expensive to get started but it is even more expensive to start in one way and find it not worth the effort!
So a look from my view as each does have benefits and downsides.
I would say avoid the mixing of items to make CO2 as those are not really long term things that will be fun to do every few days or so and they are also not well suited for 55 gallon. CO2 output varies and is not terribly stable.
Step up might be the small cartridge items. Also not good for largish tanks as the cost and time involved in buying/changing cartridges is not going to be good.