Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Low pH

NO3: 80
NO2: 10
pH: 6-6.5
KH: 40
GH: 30

I'm fairly new to this now. I've had this tank for over a month. 20 gal with 5 guppies, 5 glowlight tetras, 4 amano shrimp, mystery snail and a hitchhiker baby snail (not sure what it is).

I've got an assortment of plants.. I know some are combination bought and one is a sword. About 8 total.
Had only plants and amano shrimp for several weeks before adding fish.
I've been doing 30% changes weekly and using a gravel cleaner hose to clean off the top of the sand weekly.

Not sure what I am doing wrong. Just bought some flourish searchem comp. I'm seeing some red tips and yellowing of the plants. My aquarium is far too acidic still. I removed the carbon from my filter last night out of fear that it may affect my plant nutrients.. going to buy some pads I can cut and reuse instead today. Fish are acting normal and happy.
The bottom is fairly clear so I'm not sure why nitrates seem so high. Seems my water is too soft and the tank has not fully cycled? Any feedback is helpful, thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-30-2017, 02:11 PM
Wannabe Guru

It looks like the tank isnít fully cycled yet, are grossly overfeeding or donít have enough bio-media and Iím assuming there arenít any dead fish or plants rotting in the tank.

Please give us a little more info:
- What is the substrate?
- What is your NH3?
- The numbers you have for GH and KH, are they ppm or degrees (looks like ppm)?
- What is your water source?
- What products do you have in your filter ?
- What type of light do you have?
- Are you injecting CO2?
- What products are you dosing and amounts dosed?

Carbon isnít very useful. At best, it lasts about a week. Switch to Seachemís Purigen. It is much more efficient than charcoal and lasts much longer. You pH isnít bad. Your plants and fish should be fine in it, but it can be adjusted, if you want to do so.
PlantedRich and PlantedRich like this.