2Likes
  • 2 Post By natemcnutty
  • 2 Post By Awalls

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-21-2017, 03:43 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Tank still cycling but GH and KH dropping

I'm new to all this. So first off, my tap water has practically 0 kh and 0 Gh. I added seachem equilibrium and seachem alkaline to get both up to 4 drops on the API test kit, so 4dkh. That was about 4 days ago and and I'm only 9 days into seething up the tank. It's a Fluval 15 gal Flex with Stratum as the substrate and planted bacopa caroliniana, staurogyne repens, anubias nana and flame moss. I placed a few seachem root tabs under the s. repen and bacopa, and have been dosing excel every other day and flourish twice a week per bottle. I have no fish as of yet

I re tested my Gh and kh today about both were at 1 drop again. What causes this? Do the plants, even though low light, consume the Gh? Do I just add more equilibrium and baking soda? This is new to me
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-21-2017, 04:42 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
KH dropping to 0 is totally normal with Fluval Stratum as it is a buffering substrate. The buffering effect doesn't last all that long though - probably 9 months to a year under normal use.

GH dropping should not be more than 1 degree. The difficulty is the resolution of our test is 1 full degree, so if you were at say 3.1 dGH and plants consumed .2 dGH, you'd suddenly be at 3 drops instead of 4.

Dropping all the way to nothing is very odd as I don't believe Stratum charges with nutrients our has a high CEC.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-21-2017, 07:50 AM
Wannabe Guru

Quote:
plants, even though low light, consume the Gh?