Fertillizing & Liquidoser? Tips? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)
Fertillizing & Liquidoser? Tips?

Hi All

Planted tank newbie here soaking up what I can. New 50g.

Going to be setting up the tank next week. Have Fluorite. Have pressurized CO2. Have decent AH Supply lighting and filtration.

Starter plants: Sprite, Dwarf Sag, Wisteria, Val

I could use some tips on fertilzing. I'd like to stick to products I can buy for the moment. Here's what I have:

Seachem Flourish
Seachem Flourish Iron
Seacheam Flourish Potassium
Seachem Flourish Tabs

Missing anything important?

I also bought a Eheim Liquidoser because I will be away for a couple of weeks and it might help things in the long run.

So, I was wondering a few things:

1) Using the products above (aside from the Florush tabs), what might be a good measurement mix for use in the Liquidoser? Do you basically make a batch that last two weeks and it gets dispersed over the 2 weeks? I'm assuming it's not bad to mix all the ferts together in the liquid doser?

2) Should I fertilize differently in the first couple of weeks then change things? If so, how so?

3) I hear mixed things about nitrates and phosphates in the water. In a planted tank, is it bad to get "zero" readings for phosphate and nitrate? Is it a good idea to fertilize with some nitrates and phosphates? Is this what Seachem Nitrogen and Seachem Phosphorus is?

I realize there are no magic portions, but I'd like to learn from you guys what I can

thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 10:55 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
First of all I would love to know where you got your Liquidoser I wrote Eheim several months ago asking about it and never received a reply.