Confused about PH KH & CO2 - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-17-2017, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Confused about PH KH & CO2

From the information I read on the Internet, PH & KH can be used an indicator of CO2 level, if for example my KH is at 4 and PH at 6.6 it would seem from the charts that my CO2 would be at 23.9. Does it mean my water contains CO2 even though I have not added any?

If this is not true which I suspect it is not, this would mean that before adding CO2 I should either lower the KH or raise the PH otherwise I will most likely run the parameters into the red zone and stress out the fish, does this hold true in practice?

These are probably a dumb questions, but I am trying to figure out how to best setup my new 60 gallon tank. I have been keeping planted aquariums for around 20 years with much sheer luck, I figured early on that if I have plenty of light, add CO2 using a PH controller, lots of plants and enough fish I would be home free and it seems that this approach has worked, but with all the information out here it seems that it is not the best way to fly.

I will greatly appreciate your feedback.

Mike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 01:18 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Personally I would not worry about kH at all.
Aim for a drop in pH of 1. You can turn your CO2 off at night if you have a solenoid. The change in pH should be well tolerated by your fish. I say "should". You need to keep a close eye on them when titrating the CO2 delivery.

You can start adding CO2 slowly, when you are home and will be home for a while. If fish start gasping at the surface or acting lethargic you need to slow down the CO2 delivery. Adding a bit of surface agitation should help as well.