pH Help - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By AVN

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2017, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
pH Help

So my new 65 gallon is slowly coming together. No fish or plants yet, still trying to get the parameters where I want them.

I'd like to get the pH between 6.8 and 7.0, but it is currently reading at 6.0. I've been looking into adding crushed coral to the canister filter, but I've never used crushed coral before.

Can anyone tell me how much I will need to add to reach this desired level? I will also be adding pressurized CO2 as well, so that will impact the overall readings too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2017, 11:33 PM
Wannabe Guru

Are you using R/O water? what do you have for substrate at the moment?

Dan
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-19-2017, 12:46 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

No R/O water, just from the tap. And the substrate is SuperNaturals Sand.

Edited to Add:

There is a large piece of new driftwood. This definitely isn't helping with the low pH, but water tests straight from the tap have a low pH reading as well.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-19-2017, 01:53 AM
AVN
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
If possible, please test your kH and gH. When those parameters are known your pH issue can be directly addressed.

You can raise the pH by adding a small handful of crushed corals or cuttlefish bone, or any other water soluble carbonate source.

However this is a method to buffer your kH and protect against pH swings. Your gH, kH, and pH all work in tandem to stabilize each other. So you will need to adjust all three of them to where you want them to be stable.