wanting to switch to RO water - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-09-2017, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (7/100%)
wanting to switch to RO water

Just a little background. I currently have about twenty tanks running with six of them being actual planted tanks, and all the others housing some sort of plants or mosses in bare bottom tanks. Ive been using well water for a few years with no issues until recently. Something has changed in the water from the well and it now has a really high ph, gh, and kh. I've decided I want to switch to ro water toget my numbers back to a normal range. My qquestion is, especially in the planted tanks, what are good numbers and whats the easiest way to keep them constant? I have a 150gpd ro/di unit and am currently just mixing it with the well water to bring the numbers down some.At a 50/50 ratio my tds has dropped to around 120 but my ph is still a 8.2 and gh and kh are still double digits. I know if I go to all ro water I will have to remineralize it but what numbers am I shooting for for it to be good for my plants and fish? Also what products are used most commonly to accomplish this? Any help is appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-09-2017, 08:17 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (37/100%)
3-6 dGH, and a similarly low KH is ideal for the vast majority of plants. I find it best to make the RO/DI water into a large storage container (Brute trashcans are a common one), and then adjust to proper hardness as needed by remineralizing with salts. Some will also mix RO with their source water as mentioned, but it is easier to control hardness and pH with the first method.

O_o
/ /_______________________________
| BWAAAH IMA FIRIHN MA LAZER!!!!!!!!!
\_\
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-09-2017, 11:16 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)