Fe Question... - The Planted Tank Forum
 76Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 49 (permalink) Old 05-01-2017, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (115/100%)
Fe Question...

Hey gang,

If I am dosing Iron Chelate 10% and 13% do I need to dose Ferrous Gluconate along with it? Newb question but even after almost 10 years, I'm still a newb.

Thanks!

Clint

“Presents are the best way to show someone how much you care. It is like this tangible thing that you can point to and say, ‘Hey man, I love you this many dollars-worth.’” -Michael Scott

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 49 (permalink) Old 05-02-2017, 01:25 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Hi Dempsey,

I dose both (on the same day). I dose approximately 0.2 ppm of chelate (CSM+B) and 0.3 ppm of Ferrous Gluconate. I read that gluconate was easier for plants to uptake and that excessive chelates can possibly be disadvantages to plants.

Roy_________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

75 Gallon, 2X55W AH Supply CF 8800K, 1X 59W Fluval Plant (3.0); 45 Gallon Tall, 1X 46W Fluval Plant (3.0); 30 Gallon Long; Fluval F&P 2.0; 20 Gallon, 1X26W AH Supply LED; all with CO2 & (Calcined) Montmorillonite Clay
post #3 of 49 (permalink) Old 05-02-2017, 01:33 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fe Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seattle_Aquarist View Post
Hi Dempsey,

I dose both (on the same day). I dose approximately 0.2 ppm of chelate (CSM+B) and 0.3 ppm of Ferrous Gluconate. I read that gluconate was easier for plants to uptake and that excessive chelates can possibly be disadvantages to plants.

Is seachem iron the only one that is ferrous gluconate?

And how large is your tank?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

post #4 of 49 (permalink) Old 05-02-2017, 02:27 AM
Planted Tank Guru