1Likes
  • 2 Post By dkraft12

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-13-2017, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
EI fertilizer causing cloudy water

Hi all,

I've been running a 20 gallon long planted aquarium for several months and I have always had a problem with cloudy water with it from day 1, even before I dosed fertilizer. This week however I decided to take a break from dosing as I am trying to get rid of a bit of diatoms I have left over from when the tank was new. I still dosed a bit of chelated Iron and MgSO4 but only 1/4 of my normal amount. I mainly wanted to cut out nitrates as i know excess nitrates can cause algae blooms. After this week my tank is noticeably clearer. I've never seen it so clear, which makes me wonder if i should blame my dosing schedule. this is my weekly regime which i pretty much stick to without deviation.

Sunday 50% or more Water Change then dose [3/16 teaspoon KNO3] + [1/16 teaspoon KH2PO4] + [ teaspoon MgSO4]
Monday - 2mL chelated Iron 10,000ppm solution which achieves a little over 0.25ppm each dosing
Tuesday - [3/16 teaspoon KNO3] + [1/16 teaspoon KH2PO4] + [ teaspoon MgSO4]
Wednesday - 12mL chelated Iron 10,000ppm solution
Thursday - [3/16 teaspoon KNO3] + [1/16 teaspoon KH2PO4] + [ teaspoon MgSO4]
Friday Rest
Saturday - Rest

does anyone else experience cloudy water when dosing nitrates and clear water when not? I honestly never noticed a huge difference in my plant growth when i started dosing EI, however I've never experienced any new algae blooms so it must be getting consumed somewhere. Does anyone out there run a high light aquarium with co2 and no ferts whatsoever?

For what its worth my filtration is an Aqueon 30 filter with activated carbon and a small powerhead with sponge on the inlet to move the co2 through the tank.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-13-2017, 08:50 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Hi dkraft12,