Need help with incredibly high KH and PH - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 04:00 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation Need help with incredibly high KH and PH

Hello all,

I'm planing on setting up a 20g long planted tank. I have a 5 gallon tank with a couple of tetras (I know, it's bad) Today I decided to test my KH and GH out of curiosity and got readings of:

KH: 300+ ppm
GH:75 ppm
pH: 8.4

I'm new to the idea of planted tanks but I'm pretty sure plants will not survive these parameters, let alone most fish. I do know that my water system runs from a well and is on a salt filtration system. I believe that this is where my problem lies.

My question is, how can I lower my KH to lower pH? Any and all suggestions/theories/ideas are welcomed.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 05:15 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cremepuff View Post
Hello all,

I'm planing on setting up a 20g long planted tank. I have a 5 gallon tank with a couple of tetras (I know, it's bad) Today I decided to test my KH and GH out of curiosity and got readings of:

KH: 300+ ppm

GH:75 ppm

pH: 8.4

I'm new to the idea of planted tanks but I'm pretty sure plants will not survive these parameters, let alone most fish. I do know that my water system runs from a well and is on a salt filtration system. I believe that this is where my problem lies.

My question is, how can I lower my KH to lower pH? Any and all suggestions/theories/ideas are welcomed.

Thanks in advance!

Mix with ro water. Do a water change with 50% ro water (usually$1 per 5 gallons) and 50% tap/well water and see what you get and go from there. You may need less ro water or more depending on your goal.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 05:22 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Hi Cremepuff,