1Likes
  • 2 Post By DMtankd

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-2016, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
CO2, green drop checker only if CO2 on overnight

Hello!

I've been playing around with my CO2 since staying it a few months ago. What's very confusing to me now is that my drop checker is green only if I leave the CO2 on overnight. I'm not able to come up with a reasonable explanation for this so I'm reaching out for help.

This is a 40B, medium planted, in tank diffuser, with a power head for circulation. I'm at 1bps and I do EI dosing. Lighting needs to be improved but it currently is a finnex planted+ 24/7. I'm still battling a little bit of hair algae but it's getting progressively better (assumption is due to increasing plant density).

I'd like to be able to turn off co2 at night if possible. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-09-2016, 02:58 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (9/100%)
CO2 escapes from the surface of the water into the air. You need to inject more CO2 than the amount that is escaping to increase the level in the water. When you turn the CO2 off at night, the CO2 that's built up in the water all escapes into the air.

BPS is not a standard measure (your bubble could be twice as big as my bubble) - but broadly speaking, 1 BPS sounds low for a 40B. It's likely that you're not injecting enough CO2 and the only way to get the CO2 level up is to keep injecting it throughout the night - so it builds up by morning when your plants begin to consume it. You probably need to increase the bubble rate. Again, not really a good comparison, but in my 40B I got to around 4 BPS before I stopped being able to count bubbles...and have increased it since then.

Increase your CO2 gradually and watch your fish for signs of stress. Also, know that the drop checker has a very slow response time (it won't turn yellow until 1-2 hours after you've gotten into unsafe territory).