4Likes
  • 2 Post By elusive77
  • 4 Post By Econde
  • 2 Post By elusive77

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-30-2016, 06:17 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Additive question/advice

New to planted tanks (my first was a nano with 1 amazon sword that over took the tank).
75 gallon setup
Substrate is layer of kitty litter, organic potting mix (screened thru a collander), capped with Black Beauty blast sand. Light is a Fluval Fresh & Plant 2.0 with the timer (Right off the bat, I am thinking the 1 Fluval light may not be enough as I am getting shadowing along the rear.)
Filters are a Marineland C360 (I have the one tray full of carbon in bags) & Fluval 405 (one tray with peat granules)
Water is from my RO/DI reef setup with the RO bypass so it goes thru the 2 carbon blocks and 2 DI.s

Plants are going to be rough as I am not good with the latin names..Camboba, Ludwigia, some sort of Crypt, chain sword, micro sword, Rotala Indica, and some others. I also have a large piece of malaysian driftwood as well.

Plants have been in the tank for about a week.
What should I start dosing/adding? I have Equilibrium and Discus essential (planning ahead to keeping Discus) if any of that is beneficial to start.

Thanks
Shawn
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-30-2016, 07:12 PM
Planted Member

To keep plants healthy there are 3 basic needs - light, co2, and nutrients - that need to be balanced. How much you have of one, affects how much you need of another. I didn't see any mention of co2 in your post, so I assume you are not planning on adding any. If so, then lower light is probably better. Too much light would lead to an imbalance and then you get algae.