3Likes
  • 4 Post By burr740
  • 2 Post By Solcielo lawrencia

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-25-2016, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Should I dose iron?

Hey all! I'm relatively new to the planted tank hobby, but I have learned a lot from this forum. I have a few questions though that I haven't been able to find clear answers on.

I have a 36G bowfront and I have been using Tom Barr's low light, non-co2 method. So I have been dosing KNO3, KH2P04, and Seachem Equilibrium weekly according to his instructions. But I've noticed that Equilibrium has only a very small amount of Iron in it. Is that amount of iron really sufficient for the plants? Or should I using something else instead? I'm actually wondering if Equilibrium is really the right product for me for traces. It's mainly used for adding Calcium and Magnesium from what I have read. But I have really hard water out of the tap (KH 8, GH 16, TDS 290). So there is probably already a significant amount of both being added with each water change. Would I be better off just dosing Iron alone? Or is there something better I should use?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-25-2016, 06:37 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

i think the focus on iron is the red color in plants. dose up the iron if you tanks has red plants and you want to bring the color out.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-25-2016, 07:11 PM
Planted Tanker

PTrader: (127/100%)
Equilibrium does provide some Fe, which may be enough for a non-co2 tank with undemanding plants. I'd be more worried about the other essential micro nutrients it does not provide.

It is mainly used to raise GH by adding Ca and Mg. If your GH is already 16, then you probably dont need it.

It would be better to dose a more complete source of micro nutrients instead, like CSM-B, or Flourish comprehensive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IntotheWRX View Post