dosing help - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Hoppy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-07-2016, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
dosing help

hi all, Im new to keeping plants and need some help on dosing.

I have a 230 litre tank (lets say 200 when you subtract substrate and driftwood). I currently have a set of Aquatlantis lights which are rated at 52w (after looking online i found they give 4500K light but im not sure about it) theres nothing written on the label about luminosity. I have fertilizer by sera in the substrate and also have a co2 injection system. The drop checker is a perfect green so there should be enough CO2 in the system.

its stocked with fish and I have some anubias nana, a large anubia, some vallisneria gigantea, cryptocoryne, hemipgraphis colorat, elodea densa, bacopa amplexicaulis and pogestemon helferi.

my friend who is quite well versed gave me the following routine to follow. he said I should dose:

Saturday - 1.2grams trace elements
Sunday - Rest
Monday - 1.2grams trace elements
Tuesday - Rest
Wednesday - 1.2 grams trace
Thursday - 1.2 grams trace
Friday- 30% waterchange followed by a 7gram potassium sulphate and 1 gram potassium phosphate dose.

however this regime entails me to do a weekly waterchange something im not to keen on doing. I usually do it once ever 2 weeks. Is there anyway it can be altered so that I get to do a waterchange once every 2 weeks?

thanks for your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-07-2016, 03:49 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)
https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/11...-regimes_.html is a good way to dose fertilizers. There are other dosing schemes, but this is a simple, easy to follow one.
hubble13 and hubble13 like this.

Hoppy
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-07-2016, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower