EI Fertilizing method, great! 50% water change? Not so much - The Planted Tank Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 08-08-2016, 06:35 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
EI Fertilizing method, great! 50% water change? Not so much

I am a rookie so I am just learning how freshwater planted aquariums work. Seems whenever I bring up using Flourish I will quickly get someone posting about dry ferts. I did some homework tonight and now I totally understand why. The cost is obviously much cheaper than liquids. Okay, so I am down with that. Now, tonight I was reading this article on how to use the EI method and it sounded great right up till I got to the 50% water change part. Really? I only have a 45g. I can't imagine someone doing this weekly with a 150g. That seems insane to me.

So a couple of questions. First, to use the EI method, is the 50% required? Next, maybe there is an easier way for me to do water changes than a 5g bucket? My tank is in the living room which is about 30 feet from the kitchen sink. Not all that far but carrying buckets back and forth is not fun. Help me find an easier way and perhaps I can be sold on 50% water changes. Wow, than I get to thinking about those who do this with RO. No frigging way. I'm trying to figure out how to use Prime in bulk. I do have some large brute cans.

Thanks people!

Edit: Also, is the EI method okay to use with tap water? I know I read that EI alone works against algae but does using tap water still keep everything stable enough to prevent algae? I guess while I'm at it, I'll ask one more. I plan to use pressurized Co2. Do people use EI and C02? I just wondered if Co2 alone could control algae.

Last edited by JohnsTank; 08-08-2016 at 06:49 AM. Reason: edit
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 08-08-2016, 07:09 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)