Iron sand and adding fertilisers - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By dukydaf

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2016, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Iron sand and adding fertilisers

Hello, please forgive me, I am new to keeping planted aquariums and new to this forum. Please let me know if I have posted correctly.

My tank has iron sand and fluvel plant substrate. A bunch of crypts, Anubis, val, Java fern and big fat goldfish. (Yes they leave the plants alone)

I want to start adding fluvel plant micro nutrients to it, but I am concerned the iron in the bottle and the iron sand will be too much for my plants but also my fish.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2016, 11:49 AM
Wannabe Guru

Fe in the sand is mostly in forms that are not bioavailable, like Fe3O4. Think of it like Ca in your plate does not help your bones. That means plants cannot use it directly. Fluval stratum might have more bioavailable micronutrients. However, if you dose as described you should not have problems.

The plants you have chosen are pretty hardy and with the goldfish in there they might have enough macronutrients under low light . Why do you want to add more iron? Are new leaves pale?

PS yes you posted in the right place

Sent from my One using Tapatalk

On hiatus till later this year
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2016, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Just wanted to add some micro nutrients to cover all my bases. And all the ones available from my aquarium have iron in it. Was just concerned it would be too much.

But sounds like it's okay if the sand is not bioavailable.

Another reason I started to look into what nutrients I may be lacking is that My java fern is suffering at the moment. It's very pale and thin.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-24-2016, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

https://youtu.be/_VAJYmjqRfk