10g dosing suggestions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-16-2016, 03:56 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question 10g dosing suggestions

Ok, so I'm looking to start dosing a 10g I set up a few weeks ago. I'm pretty new to the hobby, and this will be the first time I've ever done ferts in a tank. I've done a little research on the topic, but I'd really appreciate some suggestions from you all.

Specs:
-10g tank
-2x24 watt current usa t5s
-DIY CO2
-substrate: dirt w/ sand cap
-medium plant load

The Flourish Trace and Flourish Iron I ordered from Amazon got here today, and I'm still waiting on a 1 lb. macro mix (equal parts KNO3, K2SO4, MgSO4, KH2PO4).

Here's the question I have - I'd prefer to dose each fert only 1-2x per week, but most of the regimens I've seen online call for daily dosing. Can I pull off a more lax schedule? And if so, does anyone have any suggestions on specific schedules I could use? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-16-2016, 08:10 AM
Algae Grower

Well your dosing will depend on lighting mostly, secondary Co2. 48watts of T5 lighting unless raised a good distance above the sub or with some floaters will definitely put you in high to very high lighting. Because you're in "high light" you will need consistent and high Co2 or algae will bloom because they will out compete your plants. With the high light and Co2 your plants will want to explode with growth and need A Lot of fertilizers you won't be able to get with only 1 or 2 or even 3 days of ferts. Counter intuitively, you want high amounts of ferts so your plants can out compete the algae. So no, you will need a full schedule of EI or PPs Pro dosing. anything less and you will have troubles.

NOW, if your lighting will be significantly raised or shielded with floaters and you are in the low/med range then you can dose 1-2x per week.