The Triple Exchange Water Change - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 06-27-2016, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
The Triple Exchange Water Change

I've been doing this for forty years off and on, so I'm a little old school. I used to read all the Axelrodi books about how such and such a fish, named after me, Axelrodi, because I discovered it in 1950 something deep in the jungles of the Amazon, likes soft water filtered over peat moss, blah, blah, blah... Boy that was a long sentence I hope the moderators approve. But I digress as usual. Anyway where was I, Oh yes, the books I read always used to say, "Thou shalt do frequent small water changes!" It was like a commandment or some aquatic equivalent thereof.

Then along comes this prophet named Tom Barr who says, "Thou shalt do a 50% water change once a week to reset your parameters!" Record scratch! Huh?! In Tom Barr's defense, he also says you can do multiple small water changes in a week. The guy's a God, let's face it. And prolific too, he once responded to one of my post at Finsactwin.com. Just thought I'd mention it for the sake of some shameless name dropping. A post response is sort of the modern day equivalent of getting an autograph, although, he did avail himself of the opportunity to tell me how wrong I was about whatever it was I was posting.

Anyhow, I tried the 50% water change a couple of times when I joined this site a few weeks ago (I like this site so much, I'm thinking about going premium, but again I digress.) Oh, and keeping it short, another commandment, I found my fish don't like the 50% WC. I mean, done all at once that is.

Therefore be it resolved, The Triple Exchange Water Change!