Help with deficiencies of plants and GSA - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 06-27-2016, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help with deficiencies of plants and GSA

Okay so I am fairly new to planted tanks (1 yr) and was looking for help with what nutrients I am missing. (Refer to photos below.) I currently have moderately hard water so I don't put any equilibrium or such in the water. I have a 72 gallon.
I dose excel every day to every other day.
Iron 1x a week
Seachem Potassium 2x a week
Powder Phosphate 2x a week
Seachem Flourish 2x a week
I don't dose nitrates. The tank usually reads at 10-15 ppm.
My substrate is "aqua dirt" from aquarium plants.com (somewhat capped with black sand. It's gotten moved around from me moving plants in the past. I haven't moved plants in some time.)
It looks like I have a GSA problem with some diatoms and yellowing of plant leaves.

Suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5856-1.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	647090  

Name:	IMG_5856.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	647098  

Name:	IMG_5857.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	647106  

Name:	IMG_5858-1.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	647114  

Name:	IMG_5859.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	104.3 KB
ID:	647122  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 07-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hi Freude:
Have the the plants you photographed been in the tank for one full year?
I assume since you are talking daily/every other day excel you don't dose CO2, correct?
What type of lighting are you using?
I have a 75 gallon, with well water that has a pH of 8.5, GH of 14, kH of 11. You didn't mention your pH but I would bet it's like mine.I used that water initially, but wasn't happy with how things looked. Fortunately I have a RO system used for my reef tank, and drinking water, so I went to mixing 50% well water with 50% RO for water changes.