Help me with AR mini, what's happening, toxicity? - The Planted Tank Forum
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 57 (permalink) Old 06-25-2016, 02:34 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
Help me with AR mini, what's happening, toxicity?

Hello all,

I need some assistance with pinpointing what's going on with my AR. First off let me say I'm still a noob at dosing and spotting signs of toxicities and deficiencies. So the pick below is of my AR mini which has been in the tank from the start which has been about 3 months. It grows but as you can see there are really darks portions to some of the leaves that almost looks burnt. Also some of the new growth comes out crinkled and deformed. Any help would be appreciated.

Water parameters are as follows

Tank - 40B
Ph- 6.8 degassed, 6.0 with co2
Gh - 6
Kh - 6
No3 - 40ppm
Po4 - 5ppm (have a hard time with test as I'm always unsure of the color)
EI dosing:
Kno3 - 1/4tsp 3x week
Po4 - 1/16tsp 3x week
K2so4 - 1/16tsp 3x week
Csm+b - 1/16tsp 3x week
OreoP and OreoP like this.

Just a noob

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Nlewis; 01-03-2017 at 01:55 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 57 (permalink) Old 06-25-2016, 07:24 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
Help me with AR mini, what's happening, toxicity?

Are other plants showing the same issue?

AR mini for some reason i have found it to be very sensitive to an over abundance of micros in the water column.

From the picture, it appears that most if not all the "damage" is on the new leaves. Hence, we can narrow it down to an immobile nutrient deficiency.

Because the new leaves appear to be stunt and/or twisting this is an indication of either calcium and/or boron (planted CSM+B) deficiency.

You mentioned that your tank's water has a general hardness of 6 degrees.