Good commercial test kit - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-24-2016, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Good commercial test kit

You may have seen some of my other postings and will know I'm just starting out and setting up my first planted tank. I'd like to pick up a good, general, moderately cost test kit that will cover all the critical tests. I'm not a scientist, just looking for a tool that will do the job(s)! Is there a decent kit that also includes the GH/KH test, or is that usually a separate test kit? Thanks for any suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-24-2016, 03:09 AM
Algae Grower

API freshwater master kit is pretty much the standard and basically sold everywhere. Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, high ph, and low ph. All in the kit. $25 to $30 depending. API Gh/Kh is sold seperatly. Any major box store or LFS sells the kits

Don't complicate things, simplify them!
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-24-2016, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Tampa...thanks, that pretty much confirms what I already knew. But with something as esoteric as aquariums/fish I thought maybe "the experts" knew of some other source or kit everyone in the community in the know used. Have a great weekend.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-24-2016, 11:34 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
The API test kit is fine and I keep mine around. Really, you only need to test the GH/KH/PH once unless you are changing something like rocks, substrate or CO2. Other than that, ammonia/nitrite are only needed for cycling unless you have a bad crash. Lastly, the nitrate runs out of use after you find out how much water you need to change and how often to keep nitrate in check (20-40ppm at most).

My point being: Don't worry about them too much as the test kit loses it's value to you as a fish keeper rather quick.