Doe's pH and Alkalinity Matter? And What is GH/KH? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
Arrow Doe's pH and Alkalinity Matter? And What is GH/KH?

Hey PTF!
I have heared many people saying, "pH doesn't matter unless you are breeding," or stuff like that, and I am wondering if having a very high but steady pH really makes a diffrence in the health of plants and fish. I have also heard that plants are effected by stone hard water, and I am wondering of this is true. So, "Does it really matter?"

I am also a newbie to advanced water parameters, so any help understanding GH and KH or what ever those are in greatly appreciated!
Jake

"My next hobby is going to be tearing up $100 bills while simultaneously banging my head against a wall and flooding my basement."
"Ask not what the hobby can do for you, but what you can do the the hobby" - ScapeFu

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Wabi-Kusa Pimp #3
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 08:39 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
Send a message via AIM to bradac56 Send a message via MSN to bradac56 Send a message via Yahoo to bradac56 Send a message via Skype™ to bradac56
Fish and plants adapt to whatever pH you have, anything from 6.0 to 7.9/8.0 is OK unless your trying to breed them. Anything under or over than that starts to get tough on the fish but OK for the plants.

The abridged version is: gH/kH is the thing to worry about, when you have a big pH swing the gH/kH changes which is what kill the fish. Your shooting for a steady pH within the general tolerances.

- Brad

Proud member of the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and the

VICTOR PIMP #58 -
VTS-253A-320 x2, VTS-253D-320, VTS-253A-1993-320.