pH Water level won't decrease. Please help! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (105/94%)
pH Water level won't decrease. Please help!

First, I am new to these threads and happened to stumble on it when looking for CRS and BT. With that being said, I have a 20 Gallon Tall planted aquarium. I've had it for about 1 1/2 years now. Since it's initial purchase, I have put some RCSs in and they have been doing well. So as most novices go, I decided to try a hand at some more difficult shrimp (CRS or BTs as I know they crossbreed if you put them in the same tank). Only problem is, is that I have been trying to get my pH level, which was at 7.6, down to the allotted 6.6 - 7.0 that I was told to by a seller.

Now here is the dilemma, last night I did a 30% water change with distilled water. But my pH value only went down to 7.4-7.5. Should I do another water change? About 2 weeks ago, I asked my husband to a 50% change the water for me. He did, but he bought bottled Spring water, instead of RO water I had indicated. Could this be the reason why my pH value is so high? What I typically do, is do a 50% tap 50% RO'ed water change when I do, and my pH values were always consistently 6.8-7.0 when doing it this way. I just want to make sure my tank is specced at the right pH for the more expensive shrimp. I don't want to find out the expensive way, that I am doing things wrong.

P.S Sorry for the essay.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 04:11 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)
You don't need to adjust your pH at all. 7.6 is a good pH reading for almost any shrimp or fish. The more you try to adjust the pH the more problems you are likely to cause.

Hoppy
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru