EI, water changes, fish/inverters stress and iron chelate questions. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-14-2010, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
EI, water changes, fish/inverters stress and iron chelate questions.

I've been mixing solutions and adding them to my tank, but in the end I got algae. I'm new to dry fertilizing so it most be me doing things wrong with the mixing and dosing. I'd like to change to the EI dosing, but have some questions.

I read that with EI dosing you need to do a 50% water change every week. That's fine with me, but 50% is a lot. How do you minimize the stress on your fish and especially your inverts (shrimp or snails)?

Also, if I'd get 13.8% Iron Chelate, how can I incorporate that to the EI regime? I mean how much should I measure x3 per week?

Tank 1: 5G. 20watts of colormax CF light. DIY CO2.
Tank 2: 20G long. 36 watts of T-5 light. DIY CO2.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-14-2010, 07:47 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
2.5 gallon and 10 gallons of water change a week is not a lot.
Fish/inverts are fine, I have 1000 RCS, some a really super blood reds, cards and many other so called sensitive fish.

You cannot over do water changes really.
They will only help, but at some point, doing more really does not help.

Dosing is not everything, light and CO2 are more prominent if algae and plant health, nutrients are rather easy and simple to rule out as possible issues.

Get light/CO2 in line, then you can manipulate the nutrients and see much better the effects.

I might add the 13.8 % chelate, say 1 teaspoon to each table spoon of CMS+B mix.

What type of chelate is it?

I do up to 80% without issues, never had any water change related issues for that matter other than perhaps a lack of them.......

Regards,
Tom Barr
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-14-2010, 10:00 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)