Is RO/DI water worth it? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 03:34 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Is RO/DI water worth it?

I am a newbie to planted tanks. I am going to setup a 20h shortly and I am trying to decide if I should use RO water or my hard tap water. I use RO in my reef tank but I have read additives are needed when using it in a planted tank. My tap water has a dgh of 22 and dkh of 16 with Ph at 7.6. My RO water has a PH of 8.0 and I can't get readings of gh or kh. I have read that plants can be kept in harder water but certain fish can't. I would like to stick to smaller fish like tetras and otos and would like to have some shrimp. Would these be ok it the hard tap water? If I should use RO, what are the additives I need, if any are needed? I am going to set my tank up low tech with MTS capped with flourite. I found a good webpage about how to setup a low tech tank, and dosing suggestions that I think I am going to follow. It claims the dosing instructions are via Tom Barr. It is just dosing Seachem Equilibrium, KNO3 and KH2PO4 once a week and skipping a week every month. This is the article I have been reading. http://www.sudeepmandal.com/hobbies/...ed-tank-guide/ Anyone have suggestions on what water I should use? Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 03:51 AM
Planted Tank Guru

To keep soft water fish in this water, I would use a mix of RO and tap water. Set up some tests and see what ratio gives you the test results you want. With tap water that hard you will probably end up with 75% or more RO, and 25% or less tap water. Then I would use peat moss to further condition this water for soft water fish.