4Likes
  • 4 Post By Diana
  • 4 Post By Hoppy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-04-2016, 03:50 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Buffering RODI for top off a must???

I'm new to using RODI water in my freshwater tanks. Im using Seachem Equillibrium, as well as Acid and alkaline buffers to make my replacement water.
However I'm wondering if it's necessary to use the acid and alkaline buffers together in the top off water as well
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-04-2016, 03:56 AM
Planted Tank Guru

No.
Quite the contrary- Do not add anything to water used to top off a tank from evaporation.
Here is why:

When water evaporates, just the water leaves the tank. The minerals stay behind, making the water in the tank just a little bit harder.
When you top off with pure water (RO, rain, distilled) this dilutes the minerals back to what the tank was like before the water evaporated.

If you kept topping off with minerals in the water then just water evaporates you would be increasing the minerals each time.
It might not be much, if the water was fairly soft, and a water change would correct it lower, but not all the way back to what it was before the water evaporated.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-04-2016, 02:21 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
No.
Quite the contrary- Do not add anything to water used to top off a tank from evaporation.
Here is why:

When water evaporates, just the water leaves the tank. The minerals stay behind, making the water in the tank just a little bit harder.
When you top off with pure water (RO, rain, distilled) this dilutes the minerals back to what the tank was like before the water evaporated.

If you kept topping off with minerals in the water then just water evaporates you would be increasing the minerals each time.