First time EI CO2/ help with root cause of milky water! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 08:13 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
First time EI CO2/ help with root cause of milky water!

Having trouble narrowing down the cause for the milky water that I am experiencing, before and 12 hours after weekly water change. As the title suggests this is my first time with high tech and EI dosing so every bit of help is greatly appreciated. I will start with the specs and parameters of my tank to give you an idea of what I have going on here. FYI there is no livestock yet so I have room for fluctuations while tweaking without gassing the little buggers out.
Tank:
This is a 12"w x 12"l x 10"h diy aquarium, so 6.2 gallon.
Filtration:
Finnex PX-360 (seeded with a good amount of bio media from pre-existing tank.
Subtrate:
Azoo Plant Grower Bed with a very fine layer of crushed diy root tabs as bottom layer (red clay and CSM+B)
Depth: 2" in lowest areas and about 3.5"- 4" in highest area
Lighting:
This is ugly and temporary, but I have a 24w 6500k T5 HO(with decent reflector) 12" above the rim and a 13w 6500k T8 sitting right on top of tank. These are currently running from 11am-5:30pm until I find some balance. I will be switching to a 6 x 3w Cree LED DIY fixture with no lenses in the next week or so.
CO2:
20 oz Paintball tank with a basic regulator and no solenoid yet. Running at 2 BPS avg. Still tweaking to find the right levels.

EI (Dry) Dosing Regiment: (as per rotalabutterfly nutrient calc.)
K2SO4--1/16 + 1/64 tsp (3 x per week)
KNO3--1/32 +1/64 tsp (3 x per week)
KH2PO4--slightly <1/64 tsp (3x per week)
CSM+B--1/32 tsp (3 x per week on alternate days)
Equilibrium-- 1/32 tsp (after 60 % water change)
1 Rest day before water change.

Water source and parameters: