Tap water and nutrients - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2010, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Tap water and nutrients

Newbie here...and don't have a green thumb

So what should I be looking for as far as tap water levels/minerals/etc. when deciding on how to dose and take care of plants in my tank?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-14-2010, 01:37 AM
Planted Tank Guru

Tap water varies.
Test your tap water with all the tests you have.

Ammonia may show up if your water company adds chloramine. Mine shows 1 ppm. (Contra Costa Water District) Dechlorinator will (should) lock up this ammonia. It is still available to nitrifying bacteria, and they will turn it into a small amount of nitrate, which the plants can also use.

Nitrite might be there. I hope not, it is a toxin to mammals as well as fish.

Nitrate may be in tap water. A friend's well in an agricultural area (Brentwood) tests 10 ppm NO3. This is enough to keep the aquatic plants fed for a day or two! My friends do not drink this water!

GH is a measurement that includes calcium and magnesium. Most average tap water, coming from the ground somewhere along its path will have some of each. Your tap water may be weird, or if you are using reverse osmosis or distilled or rain water the GH will be too low. GH of about 3 degrees is a minimum for most average aquarium plants, and some prefer harder water. Most soft water fish thrive in water with a GH between 3-9 degrees, some prefer it not higher than 5 degrees. If your tap water is much harder, GH from about 9 degrees on up certain fish prefer it, and would be a better choice, but most plants do not care. It is OK for them.