all around newbie, dosing thread 25gallon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-21-2010, 02:21 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (13/100%)
all around newbie, dosing thread 25gallon

im new to the planted tank and after reading greg watsons guide i wanted to get some input on the dosing regime im about to start. im going to do pretty much verbatim the barr ei strategy, with kno3 3x, kh2p04 3x, seachem flourish 3x, with the equilibrium after the water change at the end of the week. is the flourish what i should be using for traces? im using redsea's turbo bio system. im probably going to do the diy powerhead and soda bottle method until i can get pressurized. i have amazon swords, jungle val that are producing daughters and HC in the foreground, all of which are growing, but very slowly. i can see poor growth in the swords because of the thinness in their leaves. i assume thats iron, but i dunno. i have been fighting hair algae for the past week so im guessing there is some imbalance of nutrients that the dosing might take care of. i have 2bags of eco complete with gravel and 2 24w t5s ho. its a 25gal with a 30 hob filter, also is there any benefit to putting the filter on the side rather than the back because of water circulation? any input on anything?
wakewalking
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-21-2010, 03:18 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Well, start there, but monitor the tank by eye and by test, and if you see something that looks questionable, question it. Test tap water (if that is what you are using in the tank) and the tank when you start.

I use CSM+B ( www.aquariumfertilizers.com ) for traces, and I add a little extra iron.